CLI for Summer 2021

In response to the Covid-19 Pandemic, ASU's Critical Languages Institute operated online in summer 2020. Taught by our skilled and experienced instructors, and in collaboration with our in-country partners where feasible, CLI 2020 offered its trademark real-time interaction, small class size and personalized instruction.

For the Summer 2021 CLI program, we will use the reliable information that is available to us from the CDC and other public health organizations and work closely with ASU leadership, our CLI instructional team, and our overseas partners to make an informed decision by January 2021. If moving online is once again the only way to ensure that our students and faculty from around the world can work together safely, we will draw lessons from the experience of CLI 2020 to ensure that our online instruction will be of the highest quality.

The CLI 2021 application, and scholarship applications, will open on October 1, 2020. We will look to make scholarship awards in mid-February. Admissions decisions will be made in mid-February and on a rolling basis thereafter. Please click here to add your email to our CLI 2021 update list. In addition to updating our website, we will use this email list to keep people informed about key application and scholarship dates and decisions about CLI 2021.

Thanks to ASU institutional support, CLI does not charge tuition (in-state or out-of-state) for its credit-bearing courses. Instead, we charge a flat administrative fee of $1,500 for all of our languages. Please note that additional fees apply for our study-abroad programs. For information on CLI 2021 program dates and estimated costs, please visit the individual language pages.

Please click here to add your email to our CLI 2021 update list. In addition to updating our website, we will use this email list to keep people informed about key application and scholarship dates and decisions about CLI 2021.


CLI 2021 Information Sessions

All information sessions will be held via Zoom: https://asu.zoom.us/j/2701366602

  • Monday, October 5th at 9 am MST (same as PDT)/12 pm EDT
  • Thursday, October 15th at12 pm MST (same as PDT)/3 pm EDT 
  • Wednesday, October 28th 3 pm MST (same as PDT)/6 pm EDT

Online Learning Experience in 2020