Critical Languages Institute

EXPLORE THE WORLD WITH ASU

2021 Languages Apply Now

 

Welcome to CLI!

The Critical Languages Institute (CLI) at Arizona State University’s Melikian Center is a national training institute for less commonly taught languages, offering summer intensive courses and study-abroad programs around the world.

In 2021, the CLI languages are Albanian, Armenian, Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian (BCS), Hebrew, Indonesian, Kazakh, Macedonian, Persian, Polish, Russian, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Uzbek.

The CLI 2021 application, and scholarship applications, opened on October 1, 2020. The deadline for all CLI funding applications is January 25th, 2021. We will look to make scholarship awards in mid-February. Admissions decisions will be made in mid-February and on a rolling basis thereafter. For updates on CLI 2021, please see here.

Thanks to ASU institutional support, CLI does not charge tuition (in-state or out-of-state) for its credit-bearing courses. Instead, we charge a flat administrative fee of $1,500 for all of our languages. Please note that additional fees apply for our study-abroad programs. For information on CLI 2021 program dates and estimated costs, please visit the individual language pages.

The Melikian Center provides study-abroad advising, grant & career mentoring, and visits by federal agency recruiters during Tempe-based CLI programs. CLI graduates have an exceptionally high success rate for competitive study-abroad awards like the Boren and Fulbright. Wherever they start their journey, CLI students travel on as multicultural, global citizens!

Please click here to add your email to our CLI 2021 update list. In addition to updating our website, we will use this email list to keep people informed about key application and scholarship dates and decisions about CLI 2021.

If you have any questions, please email or call us at (480) 965-4188.

CLI 2021 Information Sessions

All information sessions will be held via Zoom: https://asu.zoom.us/j/2701366602

  • Monday, December 14th at 2 pm MST/4 pm EST
  • Wednesday, December 16th  at 12 pm MST/2 pm EST 
  • Thursday, December 17th 10 am MST/12 pm EST

The CLI Experience

What Students Are Saying